Functional Subdivisions of the Central Nervous System: Somatic and Visceral Components


The central nervous system (CNS) plays a critical role in regulating and coordinating the functions of the body. Functionally, the CNS can be divided into two main subdivisions: the somatic part and the visceral part. This article explores these subdivisions, highlighting their distinct roles in processing and responding to sensory information from different environments.

Somatic and Visceral Components

Central Nervous System

Somatic Part of the CNS

The somatic part of the CNS is primarily responsible for regulating sensory and motor functions related to the external environment. Key features of the somatic part include:

  1. Innervation of Structures Derived from Somites: The somatic part innervates structures such as the skin and most skeletal muscles that originate from somites during embryonic development. This innervation allows for conscious perception of external stimuli and voluntary control of skeletal muscle movement.
  2. Sensory Input from the External Environment: The somatic sensory neurons detect and transmit information from sensory receptors in the skin, joints, and muscles. This sensory input provides the CNS with valuable information about the external environment, including touch, temperature, pain, and proprioception (awareness of body position).
  3. Motor Output for Voluntary Movements: The somatic motor neurons in the CNS control voluntary movements of skeletal muscles. These neurons receive signals from the brain and initiate muscle contractions, enabling precise and coordinated movements in response to sensory input.

Visceral Part of the CNS

The visceral part of the CNS is primarily involved in regulating the functions of organ systems and visceral elements within the body. Key features of the visceral part include:

  1. Innervation of Internal Organs: The visceral part innervates organs, such as the heart, lungs, gastrointestinal tract, and other visceral elements like smooth muscle and glands. It is responsible for coordinating involuntary actions and maintaining homeostasis within the body.
  2. Sensory Input from the Internal Environment: Visceral sensory neurons transmit information from internal organs to the CNS, providing feedback about their physiological states. This sensory input helps regulate vital functions such as heart rate, blood pressure, digestion, and respiration.
  3. Motor Output for Autonomic Functions: The visceral motor neurons, also known as autonomic neurons, control involuntary actions of smooth muscle, cardiac muscle, and glands. The autonomic nervous system has two divisions: the sympathetic division, which prepares the body for action (“fight or flight” response), and the parasympathetic division, which promotes rest and relaxation (“rest and digest” response).

The functional subdivisions of the CNS, namely the somatic and visceral parts, play distinct roles in processing and responding to sensory information from different environments. The somatic part is involved in sensory perception and voluntary motor control related to the external environment, while the visceral part regulates internal organ functions and coordinates autonomic responses. Understanding the functional organization of the CNS is crucial for comprehending the complex interplay between the nervous system and the body’s physiological processes.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *