An In-Depth Exploration of Bone: The Living, Calcified Connective Tissue


This article provides a detailed exploration of the physiological and developmental aspects of bone, a vital, living tissue in our bodies. It delves into the composition and structure of bone, the different types of bones based on density and shape, and the vascular and innervated nature of bones. It also discusses the developmental origin of bones from mesenchyme and the two types of ossification processes: intramembranous and endochondral ossification. The article concludes by highlighting the importance of understanding bone physiology in preventing and treating various bone diseases and conditions.



Our bodies are complex, interconnected systems where every component plays a critical role in maintaining our overall health and well-being. One such vital component is bone, a living, calcified connective tissue that forms the majority of the skeleton. Far from being static, bone is constantly being remodeled and serves multiple essential functions, acting as a supportive structure, a protector of vital organs, a reservoir of critical minerals, a lever for movement, and a container for blood-producing cells.

The Composition and Structure of Bone

Bone is a remarkable composite material, comprising an intercellular calcified matrix, collagen fibers, and several types of cells within the matrix. The calcified matrix provides rigidity, allowing bones to bear weight and withstand physical stress. Collagen fibers, on the other hand, lend a certain degree of flexibility to the bones, preventing them from being brittle and easily broken.

There are two types of bone based on their density and structure: compact and spongy (also known as trabecular or cancellous). Compact bone is the dense, hard outer layer that forms the shell of all bones and surrounds the spongy bone. Spongy bone, on the other hand, is less dense and consists of spicules of bone enclosing cavities containing blood-forming cells, also known as marrow.

Classification of Bones by Shape

Bones can also be classified by their shape into five types: long, short, flat, irregular, and sesamoid.

  1. Long bones are tubular in shape and include bones like the humerus in the upper limb and the femur in the lower limb. These bones are primarily responsible for the gross movements of the body.
  2. Short bones are cuboidal and include bones of the wrist and ankle. They provide support and stability with little movement.
  3. Flat bones consist of two compact bone plates separated by spongy bone. Examples include the bones of the skull. They primarily serve protective functions.
  4. Irregular bones come in various shapes and include bones of the face. They have complex shapes that cannot be classified under the previous categories.
  5. Sesamoid bones are round or oval bones that develop in tendons. They help protect tendons from wear and tear and can change the direction of pull of a tendon, improving mechanical advantage.

The Vascular and Innervated Nature of Bones

Bones are vascular and innervated, meaning they have a blood supply and are connected to the nervous system. Generally, an adjacent artery gives off a nutrient artery, usually one per bone, that directly enters the internal cavity of the bone, supplying the marrow, spongy bone, and the inner layers of compact bone.

In addition to this internal supply, all bones are covered externally, except in areas of joint where articular cartilage is present, by a fibrous connective tissue membrane called the periosteum. This unique membrane has the capability of forming new bone and receives blood vessels whose branches supply the outer layers of compact bone. Stripping a bone of its periosteum will cause it not to survive, emphasizing the periosteum’s crucial role in bone health.

Nerves accompany the vessels that supply the bone and the periosteum. Most of the nerves passing into the internal cavity with the nutrient artery are vasomotor fibers that regulate blood flow. Bone itself has few sensory nerve fibers, whereas the periosteum is supplied with numerous sensory nerve fibers and is sensitive to injury.

Bone Development

Developmentally, all bones originate from a form of embryonic connective tissue known as mesenchyme. This mesenchyme can undergo two types of ossification, or bone formation: intramembranousossification and endochondral ossification.

In intramembranous ossification, mesenchymal models of bones undergo ossification directly, forming bone tissue. This process is responsible for the formation of the flat bones of the skull, mandible, and clavicles.

Endochondral ossification, on the other hand, involves an intermediate step where the mesenchyme first forms a cartilaginous model of the bone. This cartilage model then undergoes ossification to form bone. This process is responsible for the formation of the long bones and most of the rest of the skeleton.


Bone, an essential part of our body, is a complex, dynamic tissue that plays a vital role in our overall health and well-being. Understanding the structure, classification, vascularization, innervation, and development of bone helps us appreciate its function and the critical role it plays in our body. This knowledge is also fundamental for the prevention and treatment of various bone diseases and conditions, leading to better patient outcomes and improved quality of life.

Bone’s ability to remodel itself, to protect and support the body, to serve as a reservoir of essential minerals, and to house blood-forming cells makes it a fascinating tissue to study. As our understanding of bone deepens, we will continue to uncover more about how this intricate and vital tissue contributes to our health and how we can better treat and prevent bone-related diseases.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *